HR Executive of the Year

The HR Executive of the Year award recognizes leaders who have made outstanding contributions to their organizations and who exemplify HR’s increasingly strategic role in business today.

One individual will be named HR Executive of the Year; up to four individuals will be named to the HR Honor Roll. For the HR Honor Roll, companies will be divided into two categories; those with fewer than 7,500 employees and those with 7,500 or more employees.

HRE will soon be accepting nominations for our 2021 HR Executive of the Year and HR Honor Roll competition. 

To qualify for HR Executive of the Year and HR Honor Roll, executives must have:

  • Overall responsibility for the full span of HR policies and practices, including compensation, in his or her organization;
  • Five or more years of experience in the field;
  • No fewer than three years of experience as the senior HR executive of his or her current organization.

Note: HRE recommends that the nomination is prepared and submitted by an individual from the nominee’s organization.

To be one of the first to know when nominations open, subscribe to our newsletters here.

Previous winners:

2020: Ellyn Shook, Accenture
2019: David Rodriguez, Marriott

2018: Diane Gherson, IBM
2017: Lisa Buckingham, Lincoln Financial Group

2016: Barry Melnkovic, Amtrak
2015: Tracy Keogh, Hewlett-Packard Co.